Latest News News

The IIDR Announces New Michael Kiley Scholarship in Antibiotic Resistance

New Delhi metallo-beta-lactamase 1 (NDM-1) is an enzyme that makes bacteria resistant to a broad range of antibiotics, including antibiotics of the carbapenem family.

“The mission of the IIDR is to transform scientific discoveries into meaningful solutions for drug-resistant infections (DRIs). Our vision is to eliminate the threat of DRIs to human health.”

Ontario native Michael Kiley was a devoted father and sports enthusiast. He had two major passions in life – baseball and his family. Michael was an avid Blue Jays fan, and proudly coached his son and his friends growing up. Being a father figure to many, Michael loved to watch them shine on the field.

Michael was only 54 when he lost his battle to a drug-resistant ‘superbug’. His infection – shortlived and tragic – was caused by a bacteria that contained a dangerous gene called NDM-1. NDM-1 is just one of several genes that make bacteria resistant to even our last resort antibiotics. Although these infections take nearly 700,000 lives around the world every year, many are unfamiliar with this devastating ailment.

In an effort to support Micheal’s memory and raise DRI awareness, Micheal’s family runs an annual baseball tournament called the “Michael Kiley Classic”. This year, as a world-leading centre dedicated to combatting antimicrobial resistance, the Michael G. DeGroote Institute for Infectious Disease Research (IIDR) is honoured to support the Kiley family’s initiative through the establishment of The Michael Kiley Scholarship in Antibiotic Resistance. This prestigious award will present IIDR-matched funds raised from the “Michael Kiley Classic” to an IIDR undergraduate summer student who plans to pursue graduate work at McMaster University in the area of drug-resistant infections. Not only will this award support innovative and impactful research initiatives in the field of drug resistance, but will allow Michael Kiley’s legacy to continue teaching and inspiring youth.

Find out more about this award, including eligibility and deadlines, here.


Christy Groves